The Criminal Record Certificate for a Spanish Student Visa
The regulation sets this at stays of more than six months. Whether your stay counts as more than six months is a separate question — four posts add a month before your course and fifteen days after it before they measure. Get the count wrong and you find out at the appointment.
This document has nothing to do with insurance
We sell health insurance. The criminal record certificate is not connected to it in any way. No insurance policy affects whether you need one, no insurer can obtain one for you, and nothing in your cover changes what the certificate has to say or who has to issue it. If somebody has told you otherwise, they were selling you something.
The insurance condition for a student visa is article 35(i). The criminal record condition is article 35(j). They sit next to each other in the same list and they are entirely independent requirements. This page covers the second one, and there is no product at the end of it.
Real Decreto 557/2011 was repealed on 20 May 2025. Guides that still cite it for the criminal record rule are quoting a regulation that no longer applies. The operative text is RD 1155/2024.
Article 35(j), and the four conditions inside it
In the consolidated text of RD 1155/2024, the requirement reads:
“En el caso de que la persona solicitante sea mayor de edad penal y la estancia supere los seis meses, carecer de antecedentes penales en los países anteriores donde haya residido durante los últimos cinco años por delitos previstos en el ordenamiento español.” — RD 1155/2024, art. 35(j)
Unpacked, that is four separate conditions, and every one of them narrows the requirement:
Note what is not in article 35(j): no apostille, no sworn translation, no validity period, no named issuing authority, and no rule about which police force may produce it. All four of those come from consulate practice, and as the table further down shows, the posts do not agree on them.
Six months of what, exactly
Here is the trap. Your course might run for five and a half months. Your authorised stay may still be more than six months, because the authorisation is longer than the course.
RD 1155/2024 article 55.2 sets it out: the authorisation begins one month before the activity or studies start, and extends fifteen days beyond their end. That is roughly forty-five extra days bolted onto your programme dates before anyone measures anything.
Four posts we read state explicitly that those extra days count towards the threshold, and two publish a worked example.
What this means in practice
A programme of about four and a half months or less is comfortably inside the threshold at every post. A programme of five months or more is where the arithmetic starts to matter: add forty-five days to a five-month course and you are at roughly one hundred and ninety-five days, past 180 and past six months. A semester that looks safely short can cross the line on paper.
Two cautions. First, posts express the same rule in different units — the regulation says “six months”, Boston, Chicago, Houston and Los Angeles say “180 days”, and for a stay straddling months of different lengths those are not always the same number. Second, the dates that count are the ones on your Spanish admission letter. Boston states that it uses the dates in the letter from the Spanish centre and will not consider a letter from your home university showing different dates.
The same threshold decides other things in your file, which is why it is worth getting right once. Crossing six months is also what triggers the TIE, the foreigner identity card you apply for after arrival, and at several posts it changes the length of policy your insurance has to run for. The 90-day line, by contrast, decides the visa type entirely — that is RD 1155/2024 article 52.1, and it is a different threshold from this one.
What each consulate publishes about the criminal record certificate
Fourteen consular posts and application centres, read from their own published wording on 23 August 2026. Where a cell says not stated, we read the criminal record section and it says nothing either way. Posts revise these lists without announcing it.
| Post | Threshold published | Age | Which authority | How recent | Legalisation | Translation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manchester | “More than 135 days” | Applicants of legal age | ACRO certificate for UK records; ACRO ICPC compulsory for language assistants | Not older than 6 months, unless the certificate states a longer expiry | Legalised or apostilled | Official translation |
| London | Courses of less than 6 months do not need one | Applicants of legal age | ACRO certificate for UK records | Not stated | Legalised or apostilled | Sworn translator |
| Edinburgh | Stay exceeds 180 days | Applicants of legal age | ACRO; the DBS is expressly not valid. ACRO ICPC accepted for language assistants | Issued within 6 months before submission, unless the certificate states otherwise | Legalised or apostilled | Official translation |
| Boston | Stay of studies exceeds 180 days, counting 30+15 extra days | Not applicable under 18 | FBI, verified by fingerprint comparison. State or local certificates not accepted | Dated no more than 6 months before arrival into Spain | FBI Apostille from the Department of State | Sworn or certified translator. The translation needs no apostille and the apostille needs no translation |
| Chicago | Listed under “for stays over 180 days”, counting 30+15 extra days | Students over 18 | FBI | Valid for 6 months | Federal Apostille of the Hague Convention, from the Department of State in Washington DC | Not stated |
| Houston | Listed under “for stays over 180 days”, counting 30+15 extra days | Applicants over 18 | FBI, issued in the last 6 months | Valid for 6 months | Federal Apostille from the Department of State in Washington DC | Not stated |
| Los Angeles | “More than 180 days”, counting 45 added days | Applicants over 18 | FBI | Not older than 6 months from issue | Federal Apostille from the Department of State. “Local Apostille is not valid” | Official translation for foreign documents |
| San Francisco | “ONLY when the stay of studies EXCEEDS 180 DAYS” | Applicants over 18 | FBI. US local or state certificates not accepted | Not issued more than 6 months before submission | Apostille of The Hague | Required, with a notarised copy of both documents |
| New York | Stays exceeding 180 days | Applicants 18+ | FBI only. Local or state police checks not accepted | Not stated | Legalised or apostilled | Required |
| Ottawa | Activity longer than six months, after adding the month before and fifteen days after | 18 years old and older | RCMP with fingerprints. Local police certificates not accepted | Issued within 6 months before submission | Hague Apostille via Global Affairs Canada. Not required where the certificate is issued to an EU citizen by their own Member State | Sworn or certified translator |
| Toronto | “Not mandatory if the duration of the requested stay is less than six months” | Not stated | RCMP with fingerprints. Local police certificates not accepted | Not stated | Hague Apostille via Global Affairs Canada | Official translation |
| Mumbai | “More than 180 days” | Applicants of legal age | Country or countries of residence for the past 5 years | Valid for 6 months | Legalised or apostilled where applicable | Official sworn translation |
| Manila and Dakar | “More than 180 days” | Applicants of legal age | Country or countries of residence for the past 5 years | Not stated | Legalised or apostilled where applicable | Official translation where applicable |
| Singapore | “For period longer than 180 days” | Publishes it for children over 14 years — an outlier against the regulation’s age of criminal responsibility test | Police authorities of the countries of residence for the past 5 years | 3 months from the date of issue | Apostilled, or legalised by the Spanish Consulate in a non-Convention country | Not stated |
Each post links to its own published student-visa page, read on 23 August 2026. Read your own post’s current list before your appointment and treat it as authoritative over anything here.
Three things stand out. Manchester publishes 135 days, a threshold that appears in no other post we read and in no part of the regulation. Boston is alone in dating the certificate from your arrival in Spain rather than from the day you submit — a difference that can be two months of shelf life. And Singapore publishes the requirement for applicants over fourteen, where article 35(j) turns on the age of criminal responsibility. In each case that is the post’s own published wording, and it is the wording that post will apply.
On the Singapore entry specifically. We have kept it because it is a genuine published requirement, not because we can explain it. The Embassy of Spain in Singapore states the criminal-record requirement for “children over 14 years”, which sits against article 35(j)’s test of the age of criminal responsibility — eighteen in Spain. We are not able to reconcile the two, and we are not going to pretend otherwise: this is that post’s wording as published when we read it on 23 August 2026, and a published checklist can be updated or corrected without notice. If you are applying through Singapore and the applicant is between fourteen and eighteen, read the current checklist on the embassy’s own page before you order anything, and ask the post directly if it still reads that way. Everywhere else we checked, this requirement begins at eighteen.
What “countries where you have lived” means in practice
Article 35(j) asks for the absence of a criminal record in the countries where you have resided during the last five years. It does not define residence, and this is where students with international schooling, exchange years or a parent’s posting abroad get caught out. The posts fill the gap differently.
Some posts apply a six-month test
Boston: “If the applicant has spent six month or more during the last five years in another country/State, he/she must submit the police records from that country/State”. Ottawa is explicit about the arithmetic — “more than 6 months (more than 180 days) during the last 5 years in another country” triggers an additional check from every country of residence.
One post applies no minimum at all
San Francisco: applicants who have “lived outside the United States during the past 5 years must provide an additional criminal background check from every country where he/she has lived”, apostilled and translated. No duration qualifier is published. On that wording a four-month exchange year abroad is a second certificate.
Nationality is not the test, and neither is where you are applying
The question is where you lived, not what passport you hold or which consulate has jurisdiction over you. Boston, New York and San Francisco all separately require proof that you live or study in their consular district — that is a jurisdiction check on your current address, and it is a different document from this one.
Non-Convention countries take a different route
Where a country of residence has not signed the 1961 Hague Convention, Boston, San Francisco, Ottawa and Toronto all publish the same alternative: the certificate is legalised by that country’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and then by the Spanish Consulate in that country. That is two sequential steps in a third country, and it is the single most common reason a file cannot be assembled in time.
If you are unsure whether a country counts, ask your own post before you book. Obtaining a certificate you did not need costs a fee. Discovering at the appointment that one is missing costs the appointment, and at busy posts in the summer a replacement slot may be weeks away.
The rejections that have nothing to do with your record
Almost every criminal record certificate problem is procedural. The document is clean; the paperwork around it is not.
Two posts publish an exemption worth knowing about. Ottawa states that where the certificate is issued to a European Union citizen by the authorities of their own Member State, authentication is not required at all. Manchester and Edinburgh both accept the ACRO ICPC for language assistants. Neither exemption appears in the regulation; both come from the post.
Criminal record certificate for a Spanish student visa — FAQs
Consulate wording on this page was read from each post’s own published student-visa page and last verified on 23 August 2026. Regulation text quoted from the consolidated version of RD 1155/2024 on the BOE. This page is general information about a document requirement, not immigration advice; the visa decision rests with the Spanish authorities. Consulates change their published requirements without notice.